Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Virtual – Chapter a Day: When You Trap a Tiger

May 7 @ 4:00 pm

|Recurring Event (See all)

An event every day that begins at 4:00 pm, repeating until May 31, 2021

CAD_May

Daily starting on May 6

Three New Chapters released at 4:00 p.m.

Facebook Read-Aloud Group – When You Trap a Tiger thread

Welcome to Chapter-a-Day:

“When You Trap a Tiger” by Tae Keller read by Miss Beth from the Sturgeon Bay Library. The 2021 Newbery Metal winner, the novel tells the story of a biracial girl, Lily, who learns about her heritage when her family moves in with Lily’s Korean grandmother. 

Would you make a deal with a magical tiger? This uplifting story brings Korean folklore to life as a girl goes on a quest to unlock the power of stories and save her grandmother.

Some stories refuse to stay bottled up…

When Lily and her family move in with her sick grandmother, a magical tiger straight out of her halmoni’s Korean folktales arrives, prompting Lily to unravel a secret family history. Long, long ago, Halmoni stole something from the tigers. Now they want it back. And when one of the tigers approaches Lily with a deal–return what her grandmother stole in exchange for Halmoni’s health–Lily is tempted to agree. But deals with tigers are never what they seem! With the help of her sister and her new friend Ricky, Lily must find her voice…and the courage to face a tiger.

Tae Keller, the award-winning author of The Science of Breakable Things, shares a sparkling tale about the power of stories and the magic of family. Think Walk Two Moons meets Where the Mountain Meets the Moon!

Watch and listen inside our Facebook Read-Aloud group, new chapters released at 4:00 p.m.

 


Date: 
Repeats every week every Monday and every Tuesday and every Wednesday and every Thursday and every Friday until Mon May 31 2021.

Wednesday, May 5, 2021 – 4:00pm

Thursday, May 6, 2021 – 4:00pm
Friday, May 7, 2021 – 4:00pm
Monday, May 10, 2021 – 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 11, 2021 – 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 12, 2021 – 4:00pm
Thursday, May 13, 2021 – 4:00pm
Friday, May 14, 2021 – 4:00pm
Monday, May 17, 2021 – 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 18, 2021 – 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 19, 2021 – 4:00pm
Thursday, May 20, 2021 – 4:00pm
Friday, May 21, 2021 – 4:00pm
Monday, May 24, 2021 – 4:00pm
Tuesday, May 25, 2021 – 4:00pm
Wednesday, May 26, 2021 – 4:00pm
Thursday, May 27, 2021 – 4:00pm
Friday, May 28, 2021 – 4:00pm
Monday, May 31, 2021 – 4:00pm

Details

Date:
May 7
Time:
4:00 pm
Event Categories:
,

Organizer

Door County Library – Miss Beth
Phone:
920-746-7119